The same, but different.


Another installment in the “It Gets Better” series.

Yesterday my 5 year old daughter wanted to make a lemonade stand. We did it, I got all excited; we made signs, went shopping, and had yellow, green, and even carbonated (love my Soda Stream) lemonade. What alcoholic would be satisfied with only one type of lemonade?

This isn’t a “When I was drinking I wouldn’t have done that” story. Actually, when I was drinking, fueled by a buzz off my first couple of beers on a warm Sunday afternoon (and assuming I didn’t hit the pub with the neighbors), I would have done it and been all excited about it – just like I was yesterday. For now, we will forget the fact that it might not have ended well, with the buzz wearing off or most likely being enhanced, getting all cranky about the cleanup and what not…

The truth is, in my early sobriety I might not have done it. I was tired and lethargic, and I feared that I would never get back that energy or excitement that I had when getting my drink on. Well, that little kid made a sober appearance yesterday. Yet, it was different, it was real. Holy shit people, I don’t need to drink.

About A Beast Within

Trying to find myself, battling alcoholism, and other personal demons. Sharing the journey. View all posts by A Beast Within

Leave a Reply

