Marsellus Wallace was right.


Today I have been clean and sober for 1 year. I almost don’t want to write about it, but I feel I must recognize it here since I have been blogging about my alcoholism and recovery for the better part of a year.

I really just want to thank all of you who have read along, commented, shared stories, my sponsor, therapist, folks in my recovery group, my higher power that I started seeking in this last year, and anybody who has helped me or put up with my struggles in the past and loved me while I am learning to love myself.

Don’t get me wrong. I love being sober, it is one of the best things that has ever happened for me. I would recommend it to anyone, especially if you are concerned about your drinking or your ability to deal with life.  I am actually grateful to be an alcoholic, because the recovery process has sent me into areas of emotional healing that I don’t think I would have ever discovered otherwise. It would be dishonest for me to claim that I am oblivious to any feeling of accomplishment, it’s just that I am trying to avoid pride. Pride has always been my downfall. Pride brings me to the mat every single time. I can take solace in my progress, but that doesn’t mean I have to act on it with excessive pride. I have spent a great deal of the past year learning humility, puncturing my ego, and putting my pride in check – it keeps me sober.

Although I take it a bit out of context, as I am not a prizefighter throwing a fight, I will leave you with this clip – it speaks to me. And yes, although I am sitting in front of a computer in my office, today I do feel like I am “kickin it in the Carribbean”.

 

About A Beast Within

Trying to find myself, battling alcoholism, and other personal demons. Sharing the journey. View all posts by A Beast Within

8 responses to “Marsellus Wallace was right.

  • sswl

    Very big congratulations on this huge milestone–may it be the first of many!

  • seanpaulmahoney

    Congratulations! That’s amazing. 1st birthdays are the best and they only get better. Life indeed get ‘real’ but it is a gift indeed. Enjoy it! – s.

  • Erika

    CONGRATULATIONS on your 1 year!!!!!! It is an amazing accomplishment. And, I think those of us who are in recovery have been given the gift to do work to fall in love with ourselves.

  • byebyebeer

    Congratulations on 1 year!! Of course you should share it…love your message.

  • themiracleisaroundthecorner

    One year, yeah!!! I have so enjoyed reading your journey of recovery, and I have really felt the change even in the tone of your writing, you are an inspiration, and I look forward to your next post!

  • carrythemessage

    Congrats on 1 year – that is a special thing, indeed. I struggled with the whole “I don’t want to celebrate it” thing…I didn’t want a medallion or anything like that would put the focus on me. But my sponsor told me to pocket my pride – the medallion wasn’t about me, but it was about AA and how the program works. So while I was pleased to do it (family was there), I know that it touched the guys who were there from my old treatment center. They came up later and said that they were inspired. It’s wasn’t me…I wanted to tell them…it was my HP. Anyway, I see where you are going with this, but do allow yourself the joy of having done the footwork. Many of us don’t see 365 days ever. Gratitude is what I got out of any mark in my journey.

    Enjoy it! Thanks for sharing this with us all 🙂

    Blessings,

    Paul

  • michelle

    Congrats! That is a hugs milestone… you must be so proud of yourself.

  • thirteenpointoneandone

    Congrats on one year. That’s an amazing milestone.

Leave a Reply

